Przejdź do głównej treści

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

Pomiń baner

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

International seminar "On Matters of Love"

International seminar "On Matters of Love"

Click here to register

 

15 MAY 2023, Monday

‘ENTREPRENEURIAL’ LOVE

1:30 PM - 3 PM CEST, 2:30 PM - 4 PM EEST, 5 PM - 6: 30 PM IST, 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM ET 

 

Discussants: Anna Romanowicz (Jagiellonian University), Amiya Kumar Das (Tezpur University)

 

Material status, maturity and marriage: love and career in corporate life, Jaspreet Kaur (Delhi Skill and Entrepreneurship University) 

The Poor Brahmin, the Jilted Lover, and the hard work of (not) being hurt, Bhoomika Joshi (Yale University)

 

 

LOVE AND SEXUALITY 

3:15 PM - 4:45 CEST, 4:15 PM - 5:45 PM EEST, 6:45 - 8:15 PM IST, 6:15 AM - 7:45 AM PST 

 

Discussant: Kristina Garalytė (Vilnius University)

 

Chandigarh Kare Aashiqui (Chandigarh makes romance): an ethnography, Manu Multani (California Institute of Integral Studies)

Love and sexuality in Mandatory Palestine: the body, the fantasy, and the spirituality, Yael Itai-Pak (Bar Ilan University)

 

WELCOME PANEL

5 PM - 6:30 PM CEST, 6 PM - 7: 30 PM EEST, 8:30 PM - 10:00 PM IST 

 

Welcome by the Organizing Committee: Anna Romanowicz, Amiya Kumar Das, Dev Nath Pathak, Kristina Garalytė, Victor de Munck 

 

Keynote lecture by William Jankowiak (University of Nevada) 

Love and sex across cultures: thoughts and speculations

 

16 MAY 2023, Tuesday

ROMANTIC LOVE AND MEDIA

1 PM - 2:30 PM CEST, 2 PM - 3:30 PM EEST, 4:30 PM - 6 PM IST
 

Discussant: Biswajit Das (Jamia Millia Islamia University)

 

Lover’s discourse: a qualitative study of romantic love in the social media age, Maanya Tewatia with Dr. Annie Baxi (Ashoka University)

Whose individual choices? Romantic love in the Indian media discourse, Elżbieta Foltyniak (Jagiellonian University)

 

 

 

TRANSGRESSIONS?  

08 AM - 9:30 AM CST, 3 PM - 4:30 PM CEST, 4 PM - 5:30 PM EEST, 6:30 PM - 8 PM IST

 

Discussant: Dev Nath Pathak (South Asian University)

 

Romantic love and violence within polyamory relationships: learnings, reproductions, and challenges, Enciso Dominguez and Haley Briggs (University of Houston - Clear Lake) 

Beyond the heteronormative constructions of love and family in India, Lakshita Bhagat (Amity University in Noida) [CANCELED]

Cultural narratives of the transgressions in love in an Indian context, Nishrin Ghadiyali with Dr. Jigisha Gala (The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda)

 

17 MAY 2023, Wednesday

LOVE ‘MEETS’ POLITICS

09:00 AM - 10:30 AM CEST, 10 AM-11:30 AM EEST, 12:30 PM - 2 PM IST, 4 PM - 5:30 PM KST, 5 PM - 6:30 PM AEST 

 

Discussant: Alex Nelson (University of Indianapolis) 

 

Love is more political than you think: an anthropological fieldnote from South Korea, JiMin Nam (University of Oslo)

The complicated love languages of expat wives in Hong Kong before separation, Alexandra Ridgway (The University of Hong Kong and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology)

 

LOVE LITERATURES

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM CEST, 12:00-13:30 EEST, 2:30 - 4:00 PM IST

 

Discussant: Kristina Dolinina (Vilnius University)

 

Love and the nuclear: literary dimensions of reconsidering romantic relations in nuclear fiction, Inna Sukhenko (University of Helsinki) [CANCELED]

Is romantic love seen as a ‘sine qua non’ for relationships, or a ‘conceit’ which only a few can think of?, Ganga. S. Mashal (Central University of Karnataka) [CANCELED]

 

SUMMARY PANEL 

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM CEST, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM EEST, 4:30 PM - 6 PM IST

 

Keynote lecture by Victor de Munck

Destablizing love in the era of contingency

 

Thank you and goodbye.

 

 

Polish National Science Centre 2020/37/B/HS3/04074

 

Pliki do pobrania
pdf
Book of abstracts
Polecamy również
Porządek rzeczy

Porządek rzeczy

Pożegnanie...

Pożegnanie...

Wystawa studencka

Wystawa studencka

International Conference on Love Studies "Towards Research-Based Knowledge of Love"

International Conference on Love Studies "Towards Research-Based Knowledge of Love"